RSS

The Revival of Birkenstocks

31 Jul

Revival of the Birkenstock

No matter which way you look this season, on the streets, Instagram, style blogs, fashion magazines, there they are – Birkenstocks!

I can say with reasonable certainty, this is by far and away one of the most comfortable shoe-trends to ever be adopted by the fashion industry! Virtually every fashion publication implore women to leave their Sam Edelman thong sandals (which I absolutely love and own) in the their closets and integrate Birkenstocks into their wardrobe this season.

These traditional slides have become the most sought-after shoe of the summer. Surprisingly lightweight, the footbed of each Birkenstock is designed to contour, flex and move as you walk offering maximum arch support.

Whether you love or loathe these (specially crafted shock-absorbing) must-have sandals, one thing is patently obvious. They are the quick-fix, go-anywhere sandal of choice this summer, but would you wear it…?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 31, 2014 in Shoes

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Revival of Birkenstocks

  1. brunettepatss

    July 31, 2014 at 9:13 pm

    I personally love them and wear them every time I can this summer. They’re comfortable and trendy. I can’t ask for more in a pair of shoes!

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      July 31, 2014 at 9:53 pm

      Initially, I wasn’t sure, but I’ve seen various ways in which some people have styled them, and they’re not so bad! Personally, I think I like them, (specifically the white pair)!

      Like

       
  2. lgstoll80

    August 1, 2014 at 2:23 pm

    Oh my goodness-I can’t believe ‘the birks’ are back. I remember owning a pair in 8th grade when they were all the rage in the 90s. Don’t know if I would purchase a pair now, but they are super comfy. I saw Mary from theclassycubicle.com rocking a pair of birks on her commute to work and thought that was a great idea!

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      August 1, 2014 at 3:12 pm

      Yeah, I was shocked they were making a comeback too! I know they were hot in the 90s, but I also think they were popular in the 70s too. It’s true what they say, in fashion “everything old is new again” (btw, love theclassycubicle, follow her on pinterest!).

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
