RSS

The Plaid Fad

23 Oct

Fall Must-Have: School Girl Plaid

When I think of preppy style, so many things come to mind; J.Crew, polo shirts, seersucker, linen, gingham, argyle, nautical stripes, Nantucket reds, and of course, plaid. Whether styled with a crisp white shirt, or a navy cashmere sweater – a pair of Mary Jane pumps or patent-leather brogues, the pleated plaid skirt brings a preppy and flirtatious element to an ensemble. This look is simplistic and classic, with a touch of prep-school refinement, but are you mad-for-plaid?

 
25 Comments

Posted by on October 23, 2014 in Fashion

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

25 responses to “The Plaid Fad

  1. leonie klara

    October 23, 2014 at 2:00 am

    Love the outfit 🙂 perfect for fall with its dark colors.

    for more Fashion & Inspiration head over to my blog http://www.fashionlifestylefood.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 23, 2014 at 11:42 am

      Yes, fashion tend to move to more darker, moodier colors in the fall! Thank for stopping by! 🙂

      Like

       
  2. Mex Alex

    October 23, 2014 at 2:06 am

    Plaid always works!!

    Like

     
  3. anacristina

    October 23, 2014 at 4:28 am

    Thank you for your comment! 🙂 i Love this YSL bag, i wanted so badly but still didn’t have the chance to buy it 😦

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 23, 2014 at 10:21 am

      I love it too! But it is a bit out of my price range, I think I may add it to my wish list!

      Like

       
  4. fiftyandfashionable

    October 23, 2014 at 7:29 am

    LOVE LOVE LOVE EVERYTHING! 🙂

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 23, 2014 at 10:32 am

      Me too! I love a great pleated skirt (especially in plaid), and this look definitely has a collegiate element to it!

      Like

       
  5. Feline Creatures

    October 23, 2014 at 8:22 am

    Always trendy and stylish!! Great options for fall! xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 23, 2014 at 10:30 am

      I really love this look – it delivers a kinda school-girl chic vibe!

      Like

       
  6. The Fashion Huntress

    October 23, 2014 at 12:23 pm

    OMG…if I could I would wear plaid everything~!!!

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 23, 2014 at 12:47 pm

      Right?! I was just looking at some plaid pencil skirts online and was completely wow’d!! They would make for a great work wear look!

      Like

       
  7. KhoaSinclair

    October 24, 2014 at 12:58 am

    Love it all, now I need to shop!

    http://www.khoasinclair.co

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 24, 2014 at 1:48 pm

      This look definitely makes me feel like I need to now go out and get a navy sweater and a pair of mary janes!!

      Like

       
  8. Ira

    October 24, 2014 at 3:57 am

    Great post!!

    Theprintedsea.blogspot.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 24, 2014 at 2:36 pm

      Glad u like it 🙂 — thanks for stopping by!

      Like

       
  9. Pru Yeo

    October 24, 2014 at 5:00 am

    Absolutely love the plaid look, so classic and charming!

    Prudence
    http://www.prudencepetitestyle.wordpress.com

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 24, 2014 at 1:53 pm

      I agree, it’s definitely classic, and would make a great look for class (or swap out the pleated skirt for a plaid pencil skirt + pumps = perfect work wear)!

      Like

       
  10. KayElle

    October 24, 2014 at 12:40 pm

    Plaid is always in! I do like how you paired it with a cashmere sweater!

    http://www.MissKayElle.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 24, 2014 at 2:18 pm

      I don’t see it much (plaid that is) during the spring/summer season but it is a classic! I’m glad u like this paring (the look is from Net-A-Porter)!

      Like

       
  11. lgstoll80

    October 28, 2014 at 10:49 am

    Hi Elle! The plaid trend resurgence reminds me of some of the fabulous outfits that Cher wore in the cult 90’s movie, “Clueless.” I definitely have my eye on a plaid cape from Brooks Brothers and a chic pleated plaid skirt from Nordstroms. I just adore this classy and preppy look. I hope it stays around for a while!! ~Lauren http://www.ginnysclosetblog.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 28, 2014 at 11:04 am

      So funny you should say that, because that’s exactly what I thought after I completed this set! The 90s & 70s are back in a big way this year — and a plaid cape sounds smart and sophisticated!!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  12. ~Lisa~

    October 29, 2014 at 10:38 pm

    you know I want about 20 of the outfits on the main page I can see so far. but yeah to the Lauren skirt over 1,000. I need me a sugar daddy….lol….=) love the jeans and suit coat. I wear a lot of stuff like this but on a budget….poor girl …smiles~

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      October 29, 2014 at 10:56 pm

      Some of the looks are just examples of how I would style a certain item (because not all of them are in my price range either) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • ~Lisa~

        October 29, 2014 at 10:58 pm

        I love that skirt with the tights….i like the sweet look and then goth it up another..~ Im like 44 going on 24. lol.

        Liked by 1 person

         

Leave a Reply

 
