RSS

’90s Throwback: The Choker

13 Nov
'90s Throwback: The Choker

images taken from eonline 

Stow away your necklaces — because apparently the choker is back! Recently a slew of celebrities, (Zoe Kravitz, Kim K, Rosie Huntington-Whiteley & Kate Beckinsale) just to name a few, hit the red carpet donning this 90s throwback.

I think it’s safe to say that this blast-from-the-past can be added to the burgeoning list of trends to re-emerge from the 90s, and I would like for you to weigh in — would you wear it?
 
22 Comments

Posted by on November 13, 2014 in Accessories, Fashion

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

22 responses to “’90s Throwback: The Choker

  1. anitasdiaries

    November 13, 2014 at 2:25 am

    I like how chokers look especially glamorous ones. I don’t the feeling wearing it, so I won’t wear chokers (maybe a denty one).

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 13, 2014 at 10:32 am

      I remember there were those thin tattoo ones (which are far more dainty) than these modern re-imagined ones

      Like

       
  2. brunettepatss

    November 13, 2014 at 2:39 pm

    Definitely, not for me

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 13, 2014 at 3:44 pm

      I think this is one of those trends where there’s no middle ground — you either love it or loathe it!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  3. ~Lisa~

    November 14, 2014 at 12:03 am

    Always checking in to see if you have posted anything new. I like some chokers, but they dont look that great on me *sighs*.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 14, 2014 at 1:05 am

      Yeah, not sure if I could pull it of either. I do however like to see it on other people…(oh and I post on Tues, Thurs, and Sat) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • ~Lisa~

        November 14, 2014 at 1:09 am

        ohhhhhhh now you tell me, well I will be back on Saturday then…..*smiles*…=)

        Liked by 1 person

         
  4. Feline Creatures

    November 14, 2014 at 10:13 am

    So chic and stylish, a bejeweled one for that polished look, a black leather one for that edgier vibe. How versatile! 🙂 xo~ Lena
    http://www.felinecreatures.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 14, 2014 at 10:33 am

      They’re far more luxurious than the relics from the 90s! Now they’re made of diamonds and other precious stones!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  5. mariaclaudiam

    November 14, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    Love how this looks, think it’s necessary a long neck to make such a jewelry look good! 😉
    http://instantmagic.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 14, 2014 at 2:10 pm

      Ya know — I agree! Part of what makes this look, is having a long & beautiful neck!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  6. Sumbal Chaudhry

    November 14, 2014 at 7:20 pm

    I love how it can make some outfits standout! love it 🙂
    xx
    Sumbal
    http://thestylefusion.wordpress.com

    Liked by 2 people

     
  7. Pru Yeo

    November 15, 2014 at 8:54 am

    The first necklace that I owned is a choker! Love how a good choker can glam up a look instantly so would definitely wear one if I can find a design I like!

    Prudence
    http://www.prudencepetitestyle.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 15, 2014 at 4:23 pm

      Yeah — they do glam up a look, especially these modern ones!

      Like

       
  8. Maria

    November 16, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    Hi there! Yes, I think I would wear one of these stylish chokers. I like how the right choker accentuates the neckline. 😉 It can be very pretty. Thanks for sharing these lovely looks! I hope you have a wonderful day! Xo, Maria

    http://theclassifiedchic.com/

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 17, 2014 at 6:20 pm

      Well, they are a bit more stylish than the ones from the 90s, so I can see why celebs are gravitating towards them!

      Liked by 1 person

       
  9. lgstoll80

    November 20, 2014 at 6:05 am

    Hi Elle! Oh man, I remember wearing a velvet choker with a moonstone pendant back in the early 90s. I saw a picture of me wearing it and it looked absurd. I don’t know if I like the thicker choker pendants that celebrities are rocking right now. If I was going to wear one, I would pick a subtle, thinner choker like this one from J.Crew: https://www.jcrew.com/womens_category/jewelry/necklaces/PRD~B8196/B8196.jsp?Nbrd=J&Nloc=en_US&Nrpp=48&Npge=1&Ntrm=gold+choker&isSaleItem=false&color_name=GOLD&isFromSearch=true&isNewSearch=true&hash=row0
    Have a great day! ~ Lauren http://www.ginnysclosetblog.com

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 20, 2014 at 11:23 am

      I can totally see that velvet choker w/ the moonstone pendant in my mind!! 🙂 — and I really like that J.Crew choker, its a modern take on the 9os classic, but not at all intimidating!

      Liked by 1 person

       
      • lgstoll80

        November 20, 2014 at 12:49 pm

        I laughed when I read your first comment. I’m telling you, that thing was hideous. So funny the style phases we go through in life. I even had my dark and gothic wardrobe in high school. I’ve gladly left that stage far behind. Yes, the J.Crew choker is pretty-I might try it on in the store because I don’t like heavy jewelry. I always appreciate your comments, Elle:) Have a great day!

        Liked by 1 person

         
  10. miafshaw

    November 20, 2014 at 5:58 pm

    Reblogged this on miafshaw and commented:
    Come on, would you?

    Like

     
    • hideorgochic

      November 20, 2014 at 6:03 pm

      Well…I kinda like the one on the far right!

      Like

       

Leave a Reply

 
